Roberta Cooper Ramo to Receive 2023 Henrietta Pettijohn Award

Honoring her efforts in advancing women in the legal profession, the New Mexico Women’s Bar Association will present Modrall Sperling Shareholder Roberta Cooper Ramo with the 2023 Henrietta Pettijohn Award on September 22.

Henrietta Hume Pettijohn Buck was born in Columbia, Missouri. Ms. Pettijohn attended the University of Missouri and later established herself as a popular writer, publishing three novels. On April 15, 1892, Ms. Pettijohn became the first woman to be admitted to the Bar of the Supreme Court in the Territory of New Mexico. Ms. Pettijohn also served as an officer of the Bar Association.

Roberta Cooper Ramo served as president of the American Bar Association from 1995 to 1996, the first woman in history to lead the largest nationwide organization of attorneys. She also served as the first woman president of The American Law Institute, from 2008 to 2017, and is now the organization’s Chair.

For more information abut the 2023 Henrietta Pettijohn Reception click here.


POSTED IN: Events, News