Stuart Butzier Awarded New Mexico Mining Association Professionalism Recognition

Stuart Butzier, a Modrall Sperling shareholder, has been awarded the 2017 New Mexico Mining Association’s Doc Weiler/Marvin Watts Award for Professionalism. The award is presented to an individual who has developed a strong and widely respected reputation as an advocate for New Mexico’s mining industry.  Most notably, the recipient must have demonstrated a commitment to issues important to New Mexico’s mining industry over an extended period of time.

H.J. “Doc” Weiler and Marvin Watts used their knowledge of the legislative process to become two of the strongest advocates for New Mexico’s mining industry. Their dedication to mining extended beyond the interests of their clients and benefited the New Mexico Mining Association and industry as a whole.

The New Mexico Mining Association established the Doc Weiler/Marvin Watts Award for Professionalism in 2006. The award is presented each year at the Association’s Annual Dinner.

Butzier is Chair of Modrall Sperling’s Mining Industry Group, and is a former head of the firm’s Executive Committee and Natural Resources and Environment Department.